Webster’s defines ‘success’ as “the fact of getting or achieving wealth, respect, or fame”. To me, being successful can be very different from one person to another, many people feel fulfilled by having a family or achieving whatever goal they have no matter how small it may seem. I don’t think that to be a successful person, one ought to have millions in the bank account, so I agree with Webster’s second definition: “the correct or desired result of an attempt.”

It wasn’t until last year that my husband and I decided to get serious about what we want. In his case, he has known for a long time that he wants to be a film director, in my case, it took a few more years; it all changed when I learned how to use a DSLR camera. So far, my husband got an honorific mention in a film festival in Oaxaca (we live in Mexico) for a screenplay he wrote, and it was only the second festival he sent it to. My achievements as a photographer have been developing at a more steady pace. We both have jobs that are not even related with what we want, it feels safe; but now it’s got to a point where it’s getting harder and harder to face our realities, and so we continue working and improving, since neither of us have a degree and we are both self taught.

Because I love movies and therefore stories, this is how I’d like to share my frustrating way to success, which to me, means being able to do what I love, quit my current job and leave my country, which I love, but it won’t give us the kind of life we desire. So I pray that writing this blog will help me to go through whatever comes until we can finally live like we should, ’cause there is simply no way back, we’re moving forward.

To end my first post, here’s a fragment of a song by one of the bands that inspire me the most, Rush.

Whoa, you don’t get something for nothing
You can’t have freedom for free
You won’t get wise
With the sleep still in your eyes
No matter what your dream might be

Neda Ruscic

Leave a Reply

