On my previous post I wrote about how you must get up and continue after you fall, and yesterday I literally had to do that. As a girl, I loved skating with my grandfather’s skates, the old artistic-style ones; then I grew up and stopped doing it. Later, a few years ago, I bought a pair of artistic skates that looked just like my grandpa’s, but didn’t I really used them, until yesterday. I have to say that skating after so many years is not like riding a bike, you do forget how to do it. At first, my legs would not stop shaking, I moved very slowly and my arms were just flapping around as I tried to stabilize my body. After a while, I was gaining confidence and I started skating a little faster, when suddenly I lost control and fell on my butt; since I was in a park, some people saw what happened, nobody laughed, there was just silence. Gladly, the only thing hurt was my vanity, so very gracefully (that’s how I like to imagine it) I got up and continued skating. As I kept gaining confidence, I stopped feeling nervous and started to have fun, next thing I knew I was rushing and passing joggers. The funniest part was when a girl asked to take her picture and I could’t because I didn’t know how to stop.

So here’s what I learned: at your career, people will see you fall, but if you get up and continue your way, the next time they see you, you’ll be just rushing past them; don’t think about what people think of you, just have fun and enjoy yourself. As for my career, tomorrow my husband and I are hosting our first fundraising event. I’m sure I’ll be nervous and maybe it won’t work, but I don’t care, I’ll have fun anyway.

Neda Ruscic

Leave a Reply

