When stating a career, and even once you already achieved one, it is hard to deal with failure. You put your heart, dreams and soul on something of your creation, expecting to find an audience for what you have to offer, and if you don’t get the results you expected, it can bring you down, even to the point where you think about quitting. Yes, there are cases of people who become successful after their first attempts, but that’s not how it works most of the time.

Everything has its own process and it is a good thing to be rejected, that’s how you learn from your own mistakes and that’s how you keep your feet on the ground. Let’s not forget that, after having their projects discarded, many achievers in history had to take it all in and continue fighting for their dreams. The important thing here, is to move forward and never, ever, give up.

What happened to me and my husband is that we sent a movie plot to a competition here in Mexico, and although we were on the semifinal selection, we didn’t make it to the end. What we are doing now, is to keep working. Next weekend we’ll shoot Eufemio, our first short, produced by ourselves; and we sent other plots and screenplays to other contests. Also, I did my second photo shoot a few weeks ago. I’m not entirely satisfied with my work, so I’ll keep learning and improving. My next goal is to get my own studio equipment and practice, practice, practice with all my heart.

Here’s the full album:

F&G

Thank you for reading.

Neda Ruscic

Leave a Reply

