Here are some things I’ve been having to explain lately, a lot…

I was born in 1985, so if I like old movies (I guess 80s movies can be called oldies nowadays), it’s because I grew up watching them and because I hate CGI, not because I want to be cool.

If I like scarfs and jackets, or any kind of formal garment, it’s because I like to dress somehow elegant and I have since I was a kid, not because I want to look cool.

I’m from Mexico and if I write this blog in English, it’s because that way I can reach more people and because I can, but not because I want to be cool.

If I read universal literature, specially the classics, it’s because I fucking love them, because when I went to college to study literature, I did to some day be a novelist and tell stories, not because I wanted to be fucking cool.

If I like taking pictures with my DSRL, it’s because I wanted a camera since I was 8, but my mom raised me by herself and she couldn’t buy me one then. Then, when I started with the DSRL, everything changed for me. No, I don’t take pictures because I want to be cool.

I truly believe that any form of art must deliver a message, teach you a lesson, make you feel something; art is not about being cool.

Here’s the truth and nothing but the truth: I don’t want to be cool, I want to be an artist, I have since I can remember. Yes, there was a time when I wanted to be cool, and no matter what I did, it never worked; I even stopped being myself. Now, you know what? I don’t care anymore.

There, it’s out of my chest. Thank you for reading. Love, Neda.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been called hipster

  1. yeah and you also like Rush a lot because you want to be cool…j/k since when do you care what people call you? and even though you don’t want to be cool you are cool but not the popular kind of cool that most people will embrace or get easily at first, you are the odd kind of cool.

Leave a Reply

