Whether you like that picture above or not, I want you to know that it took me a very long time to feel that confident about myself.

You should’ve seen me in middle school. I was that awkward girl, with a lock of hair always covering half her face, that one who barely speaks and has almost no friends. No, wait, let go even more backwards. Let’s go to primary school, when kids used to mock me because I had to use orthopedic shoes and glasses. And in high school, there was a guy who used to shout names at me from across de basketball court because of the way I looked and walked. Needless to say, I was miserable, I had no real friends, not a shadow of a boyfriend, no loving father to talk to, and my mother really didn’t know how to help me.

So, what happened? Well, I had to meet a couple of selfish men who made me feel even more miserable so they could feel better about themselves. Those men mistreated me, denigrated me, used me. They were the reason I decided to reinvent myself,┬áto become a different person, but in the end I realized I wasn’t really being me. Years later I got married to a wonderful man, I started chasing my goals and I had to let go many things, including people that were not a good influence on me. It’s not been easy, it’s been a whole lot of work, but it’s been worth it. Now I know this: I’m a beautiful woman, a talented artist, an honest hardworking person, a good wife, and a good friend to those who deserve my trust. This who I really am.

Thank for reading.

Love, Neda.

One thought on “This snake’s new skin

Leave a Reply

